SEESL Demonstration Test

Double Concave Friction Pendulum System

6 story structure on shake table
6 story structure
with FP system.

On Friday December 3rd, 2004 at 1:00 PM EST we conducted a demonstration test of a 6-story, 240 kN seismically isolated model on one of the two new seismic simulators of the Structural Engineering and Earthquake Simulation Laboratory (SEESL) of the Department of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering (CSEE) at the University at Buffalo, State University of New York.

The newly expanded laboratory features two state-of-the-art seismic simulators, each of 50-ton capacity, a strong floor, a strong reaction wall, and an array of high speed and high load actuators. The laboratory also features unique tele-observation and tele-participation capabilities, which will be demonstrated during the test of December 3, 2004.  Developed at a cost of nearly $21.2 million, with funding from the National Science Foundation, the (NY) State University Construction Fund, and the University at Buffalo, this facility represents a flagship laboratory of NSF’s George E. Brown, Jr. Network for Earthquake Engineering Simulation (NEES).  NEES, the national network of laboratories, became operational in October 2004. For a description of NEES and SEESL, please visit our home page.

Test Setup

The isolation system that was featured in the testing is a novel Double Concave Friction Pendulum System. The attached reports describe the 6-story model structure and the Double Concave Friction Pendulum bearing.

The test instrumentation, monitoring, and observations were planned and developed by one group of students, as part of the class project in the course Experimental Methods in Structural Engineering (CIE616) at the University at Buffalo during the Fall 2004 semester and for their training on use of NEES facilities.

Webcast

The testing was broadcasted Live! on the internet at 12:30 PM EST (17:30 GMT) on Friday, December 3, 2004. Observers were able to observe the testing through four cameras, one of them provided live explanations by one of the students who developed the testing program. To view the archive of the testing, visit the webcast page.

The demonstration started at 1:00 PM EST (18:00 GMT) with a brief presentation, followed by a number of tests with one-directional and tri-directional seismic excitation. The broadcast lasted until 1:30 PM EST (18:30 GMT).

Additional Information









SEESL - Structural Engineering and Earthquake Simulation Laboratory
212 Ketter Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260, USA
phone. +1(716)645-3019       fax. +1(716)645-3733